Commit Confirm now supported in OneConfig

One of the (many) things engineers love about Junos is the 'commit confirmed' feature that provides them with a safety net for risky configuration changes. The last thing you want when configuring a remote device is to cut off communication between you and the device by mistake.

Using 'commit confirm' the traditional way allows engineers to set a timer on a change that automatically rolls back the change after a set time (typically 5-10 minutes). If the change is successful the engineer can cancel the roll-back by confirming the commit before the timer expires, thus making the change permanent. Really, really useful!

OneConfig now supports 'Commit Confirm', however we've done so in an automated way. With our approach you turn on commit confirm for all changes and OneConfig takes care of it from there. You activate "Commit Confirm' on your OneConfig environment by ticking the box in the Settings tab and selecting a timer value. OneConfig then uses 'commit confirmed' on all commits to all your devices, but with automation that you don't see.

This is how OneConfig Commit Confirm works:

1. Using OneConfig's UI, engineer makes a configuration change to a device.

2. OneConfig applies the commit to the device using the commit confirm option.

3. OneConfig listens for a commit response, when one is received OneConfig automatically issues a further commit, thereby cancelling the timer and making the change permanent. The OneConfig user gets an on-screen notification.

4. If OneConfig does not receive a commit response the commit is not confirmed and the configuration rollback is activated by the device when the timer expires. The previous configuration is restored and any lost access is regained.

So, with OneConfig, using Commit Confirmed is seamless to the user while still providing the safety net that made it famous.

Thanks,

Andrew (andrew@oneconfig.net)