Click here to return to FEATURES

Commit Confirm

OneConfig supports 'Commit Confirm' in a seamless and automated way. When you enable this feature in OneConfig it is on for all changes to all devices. You activate 'Commit Confirm' on your OneConfig environment by ticking the box in the Settings tab and selecting a timer value. OneConfig then uses 'commit confirmed' on all commits to all your devices, but with automation that you don't see.

ACTIVATION

Commit Confirm is either on or off for an organisation within OneConfig. To turn it on, go to the 'Settings' tab and tick the 'commit confirm' box. Then select the timeout period that best suits your need from the dropdown list (minimum 2 minutes, maximum 10 minutes). Next, click the 'Update' button - commit confirm is now active for all changes made to OneConfig to all your devices.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 3.27.55 PM.png

METHOd

This is how OneConfig Commit Confirm works:

  1. With 'commit confirm' enabled in OneConfig, an engineer makes a configuration change to a device.
  2. OneConfig applies the commit to the device and includes the commit confirm option.
  3. OneConfig 'listens' for a commit response. When one is received OneConfig automatically issues a further commit, thereby cancelling the timer and making the change permanent. The OneConfig user gets an on-screen notification.
  4. If OneConfig does not receive a commit response the commit is not confirmed and the configuration rollback is activated by the device when the timer expires. The previous configuration is restored and any lost access is regained.

So, with OneConfig, using Commit Confirmed is seamless to the user while still providing the safety net that made it famous.